Betancuria has had a chequered past. Founded in 1405 by the invading Jean de Bethencourt, it was ransacked by
pirates in the 16th century. The church was rebuilt by 1691 and the village, then the centre of a thriving
agricultural community in a fertile valley, was the island's capital. Gradually over the decades the abundant fresh water supply
from the surrounding hills declined, the population moved away and Betancuria lost its status as Fuerteventura’s capital
Nowadays the picturesque village attracts tourists with the impressive Santa Maria church having pride of place. The quaint surrounding streets now house tasteful craft shops and cafes in which to just sit and enjoy the quiet peaceful atmosphere. The museum on the main street has a large collection of archaeological finds and is well worth a visit.
Many more detailed pages will soon be available by clicking the links below.
|Village nestled in the hills||Santa Maria church||Main door of the church>|
|Old well in the town's outdoor museum||Church and square||Enjoying the local hospitality|